2017 Redlands Konica Minolta Art Prize artist pairings announced

Guest curator Callum Morton collates largest group of artists in Prize’s history, featuring six artist collectives or duos

Sydney, Australia: The Redlands Konica Minolta Art Prize 2017 has announced the full list of participating artists comprising 20 emerging and 20 established Australian contemporary artists, including five artist collectives and one artist duo. Each artist presents a single work in the 21st annual prize exhibition presented at Sydney’s National Art School Gallery from 28 March until 20 May 2017.

2017 guest curator of the Prize, respected contemporary artist Callum Morton and former winner of the Prize in 2013, noted: “The 2017 Redlands Art Prize has the largest and perhaps most diverse range of participants in its history.”

The Redlands Konica Minolta Art Prize, offering a total prize pool of $35,000, seeks to encourage mentoring relationships between different generations of artists by requiring the curator-selected established artists to each nominate an emerging artist to present work alongside them in the exhibition.
Morton’s selection of 20 established artists included Australian representative at the 2007 Venice Biennale Daniel von Sturmer, acclaimed London-based Aboriginal artist Christian Thompson, and recipient of the 2016 Biennale of Sydney Legacy artwork Agatha Gothe-Snape.

The 20 pairings of established and emerging artists for the 2017 Prize are:

• Zanny Begg and Shivanjani Lal
• Damiano Bertoli and Anna Higgins
• Jon Campbell and Kenny Pittock
• Barbara Cleveland and Get to Work
• DAMP and Pitcha Makin Fellas
• Diena Georgetti and Spencer Harvie
• Agatha Gothe-Snape and Ella Sutherland
• David Haines & Joyce Hinterding and Niall Robb
• Laresa Kosloff and Jessie Bullivant
• Nicholas Mangan and Jamie O’Connell
• A Constructed World and Amanda Lee Radoomi
• John Meade and Jethro Harcourt
• Dan Moynihan and Georgina Cue
• Kusum Normoyle and Eugene Choi
• Spiros Panigirakis and Marnie Edmiston
• Lisa Radford and Kalinda Vary
• Steven Rhall and Kate Ten Burren
• Stuart Ringholt and Kara Baldwin
• Daniel von Sturmer and Taree Mackenzie
• Christian Thompson and James Tylor

Guest curator Callum Morton commented on the artist pairings: “I wanted to include people who had a direct connection to a younger generation through their various communities, so that the conversation between the generations might make some sense when assembled together. There are many artists included who teach at a range of tertiary institutions around the country and who have had a significant and continuing influence on successive generations of artists.”
All participating artists submit a single recent work to contend for one of two prizes: the Established Artist Main Award ($25,000) sponsored by Konica Minolta for the fifth consecutive year and the Emerging Artist Prize ($10,000) sponsored by the Glenburn Pastoral Company (Brett Whitford).

The 2017 prize-winners will be determined on by guest judges: Justin Paton (Head Curator for International Art at the Art Gallery of New South Wales) and Judith Blackall (NAS Gallery Curator) along with Mark Harpley (Visual Arts Coordinator, Redlands School).